you resource for all things shoegaze & dream pop.

you resource for all things shoegaze & dream pop.

15 August 2017

NEW VIDEO: Airiel | This Is Permanent.

“This is Permanent” is pulled from Airiel’s forthcoming sophomore LP, Molten Young Lovers, set for release on October 13 via Shelflife. This album is the much-anticipated follow-up to 2012's Kid Games EP. MUCH. ANTICIPATED. SRSLY. We’re excited – just as you should be! Molten Young Lovers is available for pre-order HERE on double LP and digital formats. 

BANDCAMP TRACK OF THE DAY: Citrus Clouds | Life Happens.

Citrus Clouds is the Phoenix-based trio of Erick Pineda, Stacie Huttleston and Angelica Pedrego. “Life Happens” is the catchy lead single from the band’s forthcoming LP Ultra Sound, set for release on September 22, 2017. Pre-order Ultra Sound HERE.

14 August 2017

NEW VIDEO: Hoops | Cars and Girls (Prefab Sprout cover).

FEATURED RELEASE: Is/Was | Curation v.1 compilation feat. Portland artists and friends.

Is/Was Curation v.1 is the first release in an ongoing series of cassette compilations featuring independent Portland musicians and beyond. The tracks were curated by Nate Wey of Souvenir Driver, whose aim was to organically assemble great songs without overthinking the genre. Fans of neo-psychedelia, shoegaze, indie and dream pop will find much to love about this comp.

Curation v.1 includes unreleased selections from staples of the Portland music scene such as Cat Hoch, Daydream Machine and Souvenir Driver. The comp also features a sparkly new track from WTSH faves Candace. Released on August 4, it’s available digitally and as a cassette-only physical release that’s limited to a mere 100 copies. Once these are gone, the comp won't be reissued! Proceeds of digital sales will benefit Portland non-profit

This comp features tunes by Candace, Civil Engineer, Dead Leaf Echo, Heaven, Miracle Falls, Souvenir Driver, Cat Hoch, Hollow Sidewalks, Daydream Machine Firefriend and Leading Psychics. You can catch many of the bands this weekend at the 3rd Annual Portland Psych Fest! If you’re in the area, this event is not to be missed. 

28 July 2017

INTERVIEW: Manuel Joseph Walker of FOLIAGE.

Foliage is a California-based 4-piece consisting of Manuel Joseph Walker (vocals and guitar), Anthony Walker (bass guitar), Alex Lara (guitar), and Ethan Rodriguez (drums). The band’s sophomore LP, Silence, was just released on July 20th via Spirit Goth. Lovers of nostalgic jangle pop – take note. Foliage has nailed this sound, embracing the classic elements while also contributing fresh tones and nuances.

We first became aware of the band after the release of debut LP Truths in 2015. The songs were well-crafted and intelligent, and the lo-fi janglepop sound was easy to love. Little did we know, Manuel was only 16 years old at the time, making the debut even more impressive. On Silence, the newly released sophomore offering, Foliage has honed their signature sound, with each aspect of their songcraft sparkling just a little more brightly than before. The approach to production is more incisive, and there’s a new maturity, clarity and depth to their sound. We highly recommend that you check out Silence, and we hope you enjoy getting to know more about Manuel through the following interview.

How and when was the band formed?
When I was 16, I put out a song called “The Things I Do for Love”. A few friends of mine really liked the song, so I decided to write an album. I hit up my homie Alex about playing guitar in the band if Foliage were to ever become something. We got the band together and played a series of shows throughout 2015, following the release of Truths, the debut album from Foliage.

The band has gone through quite a few lineup changes, but Alex Lara has remained the guitar player in Foliage. I like to handle the songwriting and the recording/production standpoint of Foliage, but the band consists of Anthony Walker on bass guitar, Alex Lara on guitar, Ethan Rodriguez on drums, and myself on vocals and guitar.


Your sophomore LP, Silence, just came out. I love it! How do you think it compares to your first album (which I also adored)? Did you use any new recording techniques or approaches in general this time around?
Thank you very much, glad you're enjoying it. I'm also glad you loved Truths, as well. I think Silence is definitely a better record. Truths is more or less just the average dream pop record, full of melancholy songs longing for love. It's a great debut, but it's nothing very special or unique in anyway in my opinion.

Silence is a much different and more mature record. I feel as if Foliage has made a name for itself with not only the songwriting, but the distinct sound and production on the new record.  I went for a cleaner sound with Silence; I wanted people to hear the lyrics and feel all of the instruments, without a wash of reverb, while still remaining as ethereal as possible, if not moreso.